up button arrow
stateplay.org is a privately-owned website that is not owned or operated by any government agency.
Table of contents:

Gambling Age in the US

Key Points

  • The legal gambling age varies by state depending on the type of game offered
  • Tribal casinos are not required to follow local laws and may allow people as young as 18 years old.
  • Different types of gambling may have different minimum ages. For example, horse races can accept bettors aged 18 or older.
  • Some states permit certain forms of gambling (e.g., poker) for those over 18

US states.svg

How Old Do You Have to Be to Gamble in the US?

In the United States, most casinos, both online and offline, have a minimum age of 21. That said, local laws and the rules of online casino sites may sometimes differ. For example, some casino sites let people who are 18 years old play. However, if the regulations of the state say players have to be 21, gamers have to follow the local law.

The 21-year-old rule helps prevent underage gambling and the issues that may come with it. It also helps encourage responsible gambling.

Casinos often serve alcohol on the gaming floor, so a 21-year limit is usually put in place to match the national drinking age.

Gambling Age by State

US States that allow gambling at a casino for 18+
Idaho (ID) California Michigan Minnesota Montana Oklahoma Rhode Island
Washington Wyoming
US States that allow 18+ poker
Florida California Illinois Kentucky Michigan Minnesota Montana
New Hampshire New York Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Rhode Island Washington
US States that allow gambling at a casino for 21+
Alabama Alaska Arizona California (18/21) Colorado Connecticut Delaware
Florida Hawaii Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Louisiana
Maine Massachusetts Michigan (18/21 varies by casino) Mississippi Missouri Nebraska Nevada
New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio
Oregon Rhode Island South Carolina Texas Vermont Virginia Washington
West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming
US States that allow 21+ poker
Arizona Arkansas Colorado Connecticut Delaware Indiana Iowa
Kansas Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Mississippi Missouri
Nevada New Jersey New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota Pennsylvania South Dakota
Texas West Virginia Wisconsin
US States that don't allow gambling
Hawaii Utah

Gambling Age at Tribal Casinos

Tribal casinos are controlled by the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act and therefore do not have to follow local laws unless they have a deal with the state. If the state law says that you have to be 21 to gamble, the tribal casino is not required to follow that rule.

Most tribal casinos allow people as young as 18 years old. But these casinos will raise the age limit so that there is less confusion about drinking alcohol on their casino floors.

Different types of gambling can also have different minimum ages. For example, most casinos set the age limit for casino games at 21, but people as young as 18 can bet on horse races, play bingo, and buy lottery tickets.

Can 18-year-olds go to casinos?

18-year-olds may be able to visit a casino, depending on the state and the type of game on offer. Minimum gambling ages vary by state because each state has its own regulations governing or prohibiting various forms of gaming. Each state determines its own gambling age.

However, tribal casinos across the nation are governed by the Federal Indian Gaming Regulations and state compacts, not state legislation. Therefore, they determine their own gaming age.

This is why many tribal casinos have the nation's lowest gaming age of 18 years old. In spite of this, the legal gambling age in the majority of states ranges from 18 to 21 years old, depending on the type of gambling. This means that it may be different for sports betting, state lotteries, and casinos.

Even though most tribal casinos have the ability to set the minimum gambling age at 18, many of them choose to boost it to 21 so that they can sell alcoholic beverages without violating the national legal drinking age.

Some states with a minimum gambling age of 18 years and above include:

  • California Casinos: The minimum age to enter some card rooms and tribal casinos in California is 18.

  • Florida Casinos: The minimum age to play poker and bingo at Florida tribal casinos is 18, but the age to play casino games is 21.

  • Georgia Casinos: Georgia doesn't have any land-based casinos, although offshore cruises there allow gambling for those 18 years of age or older.

  • Idaho Casinos: The legal gambling age is 18, but some establishments only allow patrons older than 21.

  • Michigan Casinos: The legal age to gamble in tribal casinos in Michigan is 18, but in commercial casinos in Detroit, it is 21.

  • Minnesota Casinos: Although there aren't many games in casinos, the legal gambling age there is 18.

  • Montana Casinos: Tribal casinos there require a legal age of 18.

  • Oklahoma Casinos: The age requirement to enter Oklahoma's tribal casinos is 18.

  • Washington Casinos: The age restriction is 18 and above at Washington's tribal casinos.

  • Wyoming Casinos: Tribal casinos in the state require guests to be 18 or older.

Can anyone aged 18 enter casinos?

Most casinos permit minors under the age of 18 to stroll through the casino, but they are not permitted to stand near the gaming sections. In certain casinos, you must travel through the gaming section to reach the restaurant or other family-friendly facilities, such as the arcade.

There are various situations in which 18-year-olds may be permitted to enter a casino. For instance, some states let 18-year-olds work in gambling establishments, while others do not.

The type of casino game a person under the age of 18 wishes to play will also determine whether or not they are permitted entrance.

Due to the differing age restrictions for various forms of gambling, some 18-year-olds will be permitted in card rooms with a minimum age limit of 18 years but will not be permitted in casino-style gaming halls where the games have a minimum age restriction of 21 years.

Can 18-year-olds play poker?

Only a small number of the 39 US states that allow land-based state-regulated poker gambling also allow poker gambling for those under the age of 18. Some of these states have commercial casinos and poker rooms where people over 18 can play poker, while others are limited by state regulations but find legal protection through tribal loopholes.

The following is a list of the states where anyone above the age of eighteen can legally participate in poker and other forms of gambling:

  • California (certain tribal casinos)
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Michigan (certain tribal casinos)
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Oklahoma (certain tribal casinos)
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Most online poker rooms have distinct policies regarding the minimum age required to play. These restrictions are dependent on the poker room's location.

Some poker sites require players to be at least 21 years old to participate in online poker. However, the majority of online poker rooms put the minimum age at 18.

Can 18-year-olds bet on horses?

Most states permit bettors as young as 18 to participate in horse racing wagering. This entails both in-person and remote wagering on live and simulated horse races. Since most wagering on horse races takes place at outside racetracks, unlike at sportsbooks, there is no need to prevent minors from entering the establishment.

Many markets accept bets from betting fans aged 18 and up, which is appropriate given that race tracks generally welcome the whole family coming to watch the events.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Gamble in an Indian Casino?

Tribal areas are not subject to local state gaming regulations and establish their own age restrictions. The majority of casinos on tribal grounds have an 18-year-old minimum gaming age. In order to comply with national legal drinking age regulations, however, tribal casinos that seek to sell alcohol typically raise their minimum age to 21.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The National Indian Gaming Commission was founded in 1988 following the adoption of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA). The Act was enacted to support and promote tribal economic development, self-sufficiency, and strong tribal governments through the operation of gaming on Indian territory.

The Act establishes a legal foundation for federal control of Indian gaming. IGRA created the Commission to regulate and support tribal gaming as a means of generating cash for tribal communities ( See 25 U.S.C. Section 2704).

The Commission has three full-time members, including a chairperson and two associate commissioners. The Chair is selected by the President and ratified by the Senate. The Secretary of the Interior selects the two Associate Commissioners. The Vice Chair of the Commission is chosen by a democratic majority. At least two members of the Commission must be members of a federally-recognized Indian tribe, and no more than two members may be affiliated with the same political party.

The National Indian Gaming Commission is charged with the functions listed below:

  • Regulating and monitoring certain aspects of Indian regulating and monitoring certain aspects of Indian gaming;
  • Regulating and monitoring certain aspects of Indian gaming;
  • Coordinating its regulatory responsibilities with tribal regulatory agencies;
  • Providing training and technical assistance to tribal regulatory agencies;
  • Reviewing and approving tribal gaming ordinances and management agreements;
  • Reviewing the backgrounds of individuals and entities to determine their suitability to manage or invest in Indian gaming; overseeing and reviewing the conduct and regulatory compliance of Indian gaming operators; and
  • Coordinating its regulatory responsibilities with tribal regulatory agencies.

Differences Between Commercial and Tribal Casinos

Payback Percentages

Generally speaking, a fundamental distinction between a commercial casino and a tribal gaming facility is that commercial casinos publicize their payback percentages, whereas tribal gaming facilities do not.

There are exceptions: Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods are required by their compacts to reveal their payback information. Consequently, only Connecticut requires tribal gambling facilities to provide their overall payback information.

In contrast, the majority of commercial casinos must publish data. The manner in which this data is disclosed differs by jurisdiction. Nevada only reports data in clusters of casinos, protecting the direct payback information of an individual casino from being surfaced. In the vast majority of other markets, casino payouts are shared.

In many cases, it is published per denomination, but this is not always the case: in New Jersey, you only get a monthly overview of each casino (but an annual report breaks each casino down further by denomination). Similar to Massachusetts, monthly reporting in Massachusetts simply includes information regarding the total amount of paybacks.

Operation and Other Services

There are special standards to observe in commercial gambling markets. As part of the compacts, hours of operation and beverage serving rules must be obeyed, and some constraints will apply to the operation in general.

Most casinos are open 24 hours a day. But in unusual instances, such as the COVID-19 epidemic, some commercial casinos were required to follow municipal and state government rules regarding non-essential business shutdowns. However, tribal gaming facilities, being on sovereign land, were not shut down. That is not to say that tribal facilities did not follow the lead of state administrations, but they still had the flexibility to decide when to close/open and what limits to impose.

Type of Games Offered

Typically, a commercial casino is authorized to provide a range of games, including slot machines, video poker, and table games. These games belong to Class III or the Vegas variety. Most Hard Rock Casino locations are run by tribal operators like Mohegan Sun and the Seminoles.

A tribal gaming casino, on the other hand, is a casino established on sovereign land governed by a Native American tribe. Due to the fact that these casinos are located on sovereign property, the games they provide fall into two categories: Class II and Class III:

Class II Gaming: Class II gaming includes bingo and Bingo-related gadgets. In practice, many bingo machines resemble slot machines, but they feature a bingo card, and their profits and losses are still determined by Bingo.

If their state allows gaming for any reason, recognized tribes are generally able to organize Class II gaming on their grounds. If Bingo is given, additional side games like pull tabs can be provided on the same site. Non-banked card games, in which players compete against one another as opposed to the house or a player acting as the bank, may also be offered in Class II.

Class III Gaming: The same Las Vegas-style games permitted in commercial casinos are permitted at indigenous gaming establishments. However, there are conditions, such as the state permitting such activities and the tribe having an agreement with the state sanctioning such games on their land. This agreement must be sanctioned by the federal government.

Are 18-year-olds Allowed to Drink at Casinos that allow them in?

Casinos in the United States are not permitted to provide alcohol to minors. The National Minimum Drinking Age Act specifies that the legal age to purchase or consume alcohol in public in the United States is 21. This statute was enacted in 1984. All states are expected to comply with this law to qualify for certain forms of federal funding.

In addition, the majority of state-regulated casinos are licensed to provide alcoholic beverages to their customers. Therefore, allowing underage drinking on their premises would jeopardize their liquor licenses and expose them to criminal charges that might result in jail time.

State gaming statutes do not apply to tribal casinos. The Indian Gaming Regulatory Act regulates and grants them sovereignty over tribal territories. Since federal law regulates tribal casinos, it would not make sense for them to go against federal regulations. Additionally, allowing underage drinking at their casinos would violate the provisions of their compacts with the states in which they are located.

There are few exceptions to the national drinking age, but they rarely apply to the casino environment. Here are some exceptions to the legal drinking age and other underage drinking regulations:

Educational purposes. In general, students in culinary school are required to consume tiny amounts of alcohol as part of their curriculum.

Religious services. Minors in the United States are permitted to consume alcohol as part of a religious service or celebration, such as drinking wine during a church service in 26 states.

Lawful employment. Minors who work in the restaurant or food and beverage business may be able to purchase alcohol for their jobs, but they are usually not permitted to consume it.

Parental, guardian, or spousal consent. In rare cases, minors may consume alcohol in the presence of a family member with parental consent.

Law enforcement purposes. This may allow a minor to consume alcohol to go undercover or engage in a sting operation.

Medical reasons. Alcohol may be found in small amounts in certain items and treatments.

Children traveling across a gaming floor to enter a non-gambling area, such as a restaurant or other children-friendly environment on the premises, are examples of scenarios that may apply to a casino. In some cases, minor workers are permitted to work on the casino floor. However, none of these instances should result in minors drinking alcohol on casino property!

Are Gambling Ages Different for Online casinos?

Yes. Online casino gambling ages will vary for a variety of reasons. The regulatory authorities determine the minimum age for online gambling, and casinos are required to monitor and enforce it. As may be expected, like all other laws, the gambling age varies from country to country. Consequently, significant casino operators and bookmakers with licenses allowing them to offer their services in different jurisdictions must modify their online venues to avoid violating the law.

Regardless of the minimum age given by an online casino, players are subject to the regulations of the nation in which they reside. This implies that if a casino permits players as young as 18, but your country's laws require you to be at least 21 to gamble online, your country's regulations take precedence, and a minimum age of 21 is necessary.

What happens if I’m an underage gambler?

The legal gambling age and the penalties for underage betting are determined at the state level.

If a minor is detected and convicted of underage gambling, they might face a fine of up to $1,000 and a license suspension of up to six months in most jurisdictions. The potential for jail time and a criminal record are additional risks. It is a misdemeanor to gamble as an underage person and a misdemeanor for a parent to provide a juvenile with access to gambling knowingly.

A licensed casino might face fines and even lose its gambling license if it is found to have knowingly permitted an underage customer to gamble there.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Gamble in Nevada?

Nevada has a legal gambling age of 21 years old. Regardless of whether you want to gamble at a land-based or online casino, you must be at least 21 years old to participate in gambling. You must be at least 21 years old to participate in any type of gambling in the state, including casino gambling, poker, horse racing betting, and bingo.

In addition, persons below 21 years are not permitted to enter casinos, even if they are accompanied by an adult. There is no variation in minimum age amongst Nevada municipalities. The plain truth is that if you want to gamble in Reno or Las Vegas, you need to be 21 years old.

In 2017, a measure proposing to decrease Nevada's legal gambling age to 18 years old was introduced, with its author arguing that if a person is old enough to serve in the military, they should also be old enough to bet in Las Vegas. It died in the same way as similar legislation had a decade before.

Who Regulates Nevada's Gambling Laws?

Nevada's gambling laws are enforced by the Nevada Gaming Control Board and the Nevada Gaming Commission. The three-person Board oversees the implementation of gaming rules and regulations and advises the Commission on licensing issues.

The Board is responsible for approving new requirements, investigating existing licensees, conducting background checks, and conducting audits of gaming establishments. The five part-time members of the commission have the final say on licensing decisions, rulemaking, and licensee punishments for infractions of the rules.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in Nevada?

If you are under 21 and gamble at a Las Vegas casino, you are committing a crime and might lose more than a few chips if you are found guilty.

The legal gambling age in Nevada is 21 years old. Under NRS 463.350, a person under the age of 21 shall not:

  • Play, be permitted to play, place wagers at, or receive wins from any gambling game, slot machine, racing book, sports pool, or pari-mutuel operator, either personally or through an agent.
  • Permit or encourage loitering in or about any place or property where licensed games, race books, sports pools, or pari-mutuel wagering are operated or conducted.
  • Work as a casino employee outside of the counting room.

This means that loitering in a casino when underage is illegal. In addition, parents should be aware that the legislation penalizes anybody who "permits the violation of any of the terms of this section."

  • A violation of NRS 463.350 is a Nevada misdemeanor punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and up to six months in prison upon conviction.
  • In addition to these penalties, you will be expelled from the casino immediately, and you will be prevented from keeping any major wins during your stay there.
  • If you obtained a phony ID in order to gamble, drink alcohol, or purchase cigarettes in Las Vegas, you are guilty of a separate misdemeanor that carries up to six months in jail and/or $1,000 in fines.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Gamble in New Jersey?

In order to legally gamble in New Jersey, individuals must be at least 21 years old. This age restriction applies to both offline and internet gambling. In other words, you must be at least 21 years old to place wagers on slot machines, card games, sports betting, and video poker at land-based casinos or online casinos.

However, the minimum age for wagering on horse racing, bingo, keno, and the lottery is 18. Gambling for charity, entertainment games, and social gambling has no age restrictions.

The Casino Control Act of 1983 addressed the issue of gambling by minors in New Jersey. The House and Senate voted to amend the minimum gambling age in casinos to 21, the same as the legal gambling age in all U.S. states. The law prohibits anyone under the age of 21 from entering any casino or simulcasting facility in Atlantic City.

Who regulates New Jersey Gambling Laws?

The Casino Control Act is enforced by the Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE), a law enforcement organization that also serves as the regulatory system's investigative branch for casinos.

Attorneys, investigators, and accountants make up the DGE staff, which is also assisted by Department of Criminal Justice (DCJ) prosecutors and New Jersey State Troopers. DGE reviews and audits casino-hotel operations; reviews and prosecutes all crimes related to casinos.

The Division also tests all casino slot machines, casino floor systems, and Internet gaming platform systems before use. It conducts investigations, produces reports, and, when necessary, challenges the qualifications of individual and corporate applicants for casinos and casino-related licenses.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in New Jersey?

If someone under the legal age to gamble in New Jersey does so anyway, they will be charged with a crime (which will stay on their record forever), fined between $500 and $1,000, and have their license taken away for six months.

Teenagers who are 17 or younger and don't have a driver's license will get one six months after the date it was given out. Anyone over 21 who forces or convinces someone under 21 to gamble could be charged with being a disorderly person.

How old do you have to be to Gamble in Mississippi?

In Mississippi, the legal casino gambling age is 21 years old. The statewide gambling age is 18, but most casinos have alcohol licenses, making it reasonable for state judicial officials and casinos to require players to be at least 21.

The following are the minimum ages for various forms of gambling in Mississippi: For casinos, the minimum age is 21; for poker, it is 21; for bingo, it is 18. For horse racing, it is 21; and for the lottery, it is 18.

Since online casinos, online poker, and daily fantasy sports are banned in the state, an age restriction is unnecessary.

Gambling in Mississippi centers around riverboat casinos, commercial land-based casinos, and tribal land-based casinos. Although the legal age to gamble and enter a casino is 21, the Federal Indian Gaming and Regulatory Act exempts tribal casinos from state authority and allows them to decrease the minimum age to 18.

If the tribal casino's gaming floor serves alcohol, the minimum gambling age is 21. If alcohol is not offered, the minimum age may be lowered to 18.

Who Regulates Gambling Laws in Mississippi?

The Mississippi Gaming Commission (MGC) is responsible for enforcing the state's Gaming Control Act and Charitable Gaming Laws. Working with the industry, the MGC creates and enforces regulations within the authority of these statutes in a manner that safeguards the state of Mississippi and maintains public confidence in both the charitable gaming and casino gaming businesses.

The Mississippi Gaming Commission has the jurisdiction to audit or review the books, assess the accounting processes and procedures, and monitor how licensees count and handle cash, tokens, negotiable instruments, and credit instruments. In addition, the Commission is obligated to inspect the books and records of any licensee when circumstances warrant it. The Mississippi Gaming Commission may also investigate the compliance of each licensee with the Gaming Control Act and other rules pertaining to internal controls and auditing procedures.

The Commission regulates and taxes gaming to generate income for state programs such as education, housing, transportation, and health care.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in Mississippi?

Under Miss. Code Ann. 75-76-155 any player who plays or collects winnings, individually or through an agent, from any kind of gambling is subject to a maximum 6-month jail sentence and/or a $1,000 fine.

In addition, allowing a juvenile to gamble or granting unsupervised access to a gambling establishment is punishable by up to six months in prison and/or a $1,000 fine.

How old do you have to be to Gamble in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts General Laws (c.23N 13) prohibit casino game providers from accepting wagers from anyone under the age of 21. Similarly, those under the age of 21 are prohibited from entering poker rooms and sportsbooks in the state. If they are at least 18 years old, however, bettors may wager on dog and horse racing, bingo, and the lottery.

The Massachusetts tribal casinos operate under the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act and are therefore exempt from the Massachusetts Gaming Law's wagering age minimum of 21 years. However, the majority of these casinos raise their minimum age to 21 in order to offer alcohol on the gaming floor. Federal law says that individuals must be at least 21 years old in order to consume alcoholic beverages.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The Massachusetts Gaming Commission (MGC) regulates the state's gambling industry. It regulates all forms of gaming available inside the state's borders. The Commission is responsible for licensing casino operators to operate legally in Massachusetts, and licenses may be canceled for those that violate the laws.

The MGC establishes and maintains a mechanism that is equitable, transparent, and inclusive for implementing the expanded gaming law.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in Massachusetts?

In accordance with MGL c.23, Section 43, the penalties for underage gambling are as follows:

  • Any person under the age of 21 who places a wager or collects wins at a gaming facility is subject to a fine of up to $1,000.
  • Any gaming facility operator who knowingly permits a person under the age of 21 to place bets or collect wins at a gaming facility will be sentenced to a minimum of one year in jail, a maximum fine of $10,000, or both.
  • Whoever makes a wager on behalf of a minor is subject to imprisonment for up to six months or a fine of up to one thousand dollars, or both.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Gamble in California?

The minimum gambling age in California is 18. However, in order to legally provide alcohol to all clients, most casinos do not accept customers under 21. Californians can bet in tribal casinos regulated by the state or on international online gambling websites.

There are a few casinos throughout the state that welcome 18-year-old players, despite the fact that alcohol licenses and zoning are tightly restricted for anyone under 21. For instance, tribal casinos in California are able to establish their own age restrictions. However, these casinos frequently let children into non-gaming areas of their facilities.

As of January 2023, California casinos cannot offer sports betting. The California legislature has not yet succeeded in legalizing internet gambling by in-state operators.

As with casinos, poker rooms in California have the ability to impose their own age restrictions. Some demand that gamers be at least 21 years old, while others accept players as young as 18.

The minimum age for betting on horse races and the lottery is 18 in California. This means that punters who wish to place bets on horse races at any California racetrack, off-track betting facility, or online via advance deposit betting services must be at least 18 years old.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The California Gambling Control Commission (CGCC) regulates all casino and cardroom activities in California. It is in charge of licensing card rooms and collaborating with tribes who operate casinos.

In California, the CGCC has authority over regulated non-tribal gambling enterprises (cardrooms).

To guarantee that tribal gaming in California is conducted fairly and honestly in line with the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, the Bureau of Gambling Control (Bureau), the California Gambling Control Commission (Commission), and the California Tribal Gaming Agencies (TGA) all work together.

Gaming resource suppliers, financial sources, management contractors, and key employees who are issued gaming licenses by the various TGAs in California are required to submit a finding of suitability application to the Bureau as part of the state certification process established by the Compacts between California Indian Tribes and the Governor of California.

To assess whether an applicant is appropriate for a license under the Gambling Control Act, the Bureau conducts a background investigation in accordance with Section 6.5.6 of the Compacts (Business and Professions Code section 19800 et seq.)

When the inquiry is done, the Bureau will recommend to the Commission whether or not the subject is suitable for employment. The Commission makes its suitability assessment based in large part on the Bureau's written recommendation, which takes into account a number of characteristics outlined in the Gambling Control Act, such as the applicant's honesty, general character, and financial and criminal history.

What's the Penalty for Underage Gambling in California?

According to Section 19941 of the California Business and Professions Code, anyone who allows a minor to enter a casino is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in prison. Alternatively, the offender may be fined $1,000 or incarcerated and fined.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Gamble in New York?

New York's legal gambling age requirement is 18. To be eligible to gamble at tribal and commercial casinos, you must be at least 21 years old. If you just wish to purchase lottery tickets or wager on horse races, you can do so if you are 18 or older. Online casinos are not licensed in the state. Thus, age restrictions do not apply to this kind of gambling.

All New Yorkers who are 18 years of age or older may participate in daily fantasy sports (DFS). With industry giant FanDuel's headquarters in New York City and significant professional sports franchises in all leagues, DFS is a very popular activity in the Big Apple.

Some approved overseas gambling websites accept all players over the age of 18 for those who do not wish to deal with complicated gaming statutes. However, the legal gambling age in New York varies significantly depending on the type of wager being placed.

Who regulates Gambling Laws in New York?

The New York State Gaming Commission supervises all facets of gambling in the state, including horse racing and pari-mutuel betting, Class III Indian Gaming, the state lottery (including video lottery terminals), retail gaming, and charitable gaming. The Commission was established by Chapter 60 of the 2012 Statutes. The statute consolidated the New York State Racing and Wagering Board and the New York State Division of Lottery into one state body.

The purpose of the New York State Gaming Commission is to ensure that all legal gaming and horse racing in the state is done with the utmost integrity, authenticity, and excellence. The Commission operates the New York Lottery in the most productive and transparent manner and protects the public interest by providing responsive and effective state gaming regulation. The Commission seeks to guarantee that all participants in the gaming and horse racing industries, including consumers who wager on Commission-regulated or -operated activities, are served fairly and responsibly. The Commission also promotes the health and safety of horses and all racing participants.

Indian Gaming: In 1988, Congress enacted the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, allowing federally recognized Indian tribes to engage in gaming activities under specific conditions. This statute allows bingo, pull tabs, lotto, punch boards, tip jars, and certain card games to be held on tribal land. However, a Tribal-State compact is required for all other forms of gambling. Three tribes in the state of New York have legalized gaming:

  • The Seneca Nation of Indians operates the Class III Seneca Niagara Casino in Niagara Falls, the Class III Seneca Allegany Casino in Allegany, New York, and the Class III Seneca Buffalo Casino in Buffalo, New York, as well as Class II bingo on their Cattaraugus and Allegany Reservation sites.
  • The St. Regis Mohawks manage the Class II Mohawk Bingo Palace and the Class III Akwesasne Mohawk Casino, which offers Class II poker games as well.
  • The Oneida Indian Nation of New York operates the Turning Stone Casino, which features Class II bingo and poker as well as Class III gaming.

The Gaming Commission maintains a twenty-four-hour presence in the gaming facilities of the five Class III facilities in order to safeguard the integrity of all Class III gaming operations and to ensure the fair and honest running of such activities. In addition, the State conducts background checks on all casino workers and businesses that transact gaming-related business with the casino to determine their appropriateness.

In accordance with each Compact, the State jointly controls Class III gambling establishments with the appropriate Nation or Tribal Gaming Agency. Class II gaming operations, including bingo, pull tabs, lottery, punch boards, tip jars, and certain card games, are governed by the Tribe in partnership with the National Indian Gaming Commission; however, tribes may self-regulate these activities in specific circumstances.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in New York?

New York's racetracks and other gambling establishments were given stiffer fines in 2016 after the state's Gaming Commission passed a law making it illegal for anybody under the age of 18 to place bets at such establishments.

The new regulation implements a tiered system of fines on licensed track, VLT, and other gambling operators for allowing underage wagering:

The New York State Gaming Commission will take action against racetracks whose corporate owners' association allows underage gamblers onto their premises. For each subsequent infraction within a year of the initial one, the fine would increase by $5,000, up to $10,000.

A $25,000 fine and "such action as the commission may deem appropriate," including suspension or revocation of any license or privilege to operate or manage a track in this state, are specified for a fourth offense within a year of a previous violation.

How Old do You have to be to Gamble in Texas?

There are no casinos in Texas that allow individuals under the age of 18 to wager. The legal age to gamble in Texas casinos is 21 years old. Keeping the casino age limit at 21 represents Texas' conservative principles and is consistent with the casino age limits of surrounding states.

The legal Texas gambling age for visiting casinos is likely set at 21 since this is the drinking age throughout the United States. As both casinos in Texas sell alcohol to patrons, casino operators can reduce the likelihood of being penalized for serving alcohol to minors by aligning the casino entry age with the legal drinking age.

As of January 2023, there are just two tribal casinos operating in Texas, and both are restricted by their compacts to provide only Class II gaming on-site. Class II gaming restricts casinos' gambling options to electronic devices. This implies that neither casino offers the most popular traditional casino table games.

In Texas, the minimum legal age to purchase lottery tickets is 18.

Outside of Indian reservations, casino-style gambling is wholly outlawed in Texas, and the current political climate makes it impossible for Texas to allow internet gambling in the near future. Those above the age of 21 with a passion for casino games are limited to the possibilities listed above.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The Texas Racing Commission oversees and regulates pari-mutuel racing in accordance with the Texas Racing Act. This means the Commission is charged with the issuance of permits for horse and dog racing. The board of directors consists of nine people. Seven members are selected by the Governor with the advice and permission of the Senate to serve six-year terms, while the Commissioner of Agriculture and the Chairman of the Public Safety Commission serve as ex officio members.

The Texas Lottery Commission was established by statute in 1993 to assume control of the Texas Lottery from the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts; the statute also grants the Commission authority over charitable bingo games (moving that duty from the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission).

What's the penalty for underage gambling in Texas?

There are no legalized casinos in Texas, with the exception of those located on tribal territories. Since Indian casinos are not subject to state law, penalties for gambling by minors are irrelevant.

How Old do You have to be to Gamble in Florida?

The minimum age for land-based casino games is 21, whereas the minimum age for lottery games, horse racing, dog racing, bingo, jai alai, and poker is 18. This age limit can be found in Florida Statutes 849.01 et seq. and 550.001 et seq., which regulate gambling inside the Sunshine State.

18-year-olds in Florida are now permitted to gamble in person at cardrooms (poker) and horse racing tracks. They can also play the lottery and charitable bingo games. And while casino gambling in Florida is prohibited for those under the age of 21, there are multiple online casino sites that welcome players aged 18, 19, and 20.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The Florida Gaming Control Commission, a five-member regulatory body, is in charge of carrying out all of the state's regulatory and executive functions relating to gambling, including the regulation of pari-mutuel wagering, cardrooms, slot machine facilities, gaming compact oversight, and other types of gambling permitted by state legislation or the constitution, with the exception of the state lottery.

In Florida, the state government operates the lottery, which includes games such as Powerball, Mega Money, Lucky Lines, and Mega Millions. Lottery winnings are earmarked for the development of new schools and educational facilities to boost public education.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in Florida?

Slot machine operators who willfully violate underage gambling laws may have their licenses revoked or suspended. They can also face civil penalties, such as a maximum fine of $100,000.

How old do you have to be to Gamble in Colorado?

In Colorado, the minimum gambling age for casino games is 21. Even though the majority of age-related privileges in the state begin at 18, you must be at least 21 to visit a casino and play casino games such as poker. However, at the age of 18, you can purchase lottery tickets and wager on horse races.

You must be at least 21 years old to participate in lawful low-stakes gambling in some smaller, historically significant communities or to gamble at one of the state's two tribal casinos.

Under 24-35-214 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, it is prohibited to sell lottery tickets to anybody under the age of 18. Similarly, an individual under 18 years cannot buy a lottery ticket. The law, however, authorizes a person under 18 to receive a lottery ticket as a gift.

According to Colorado Revised Statutes 12-60-601, it is against the law for anyone under the age of 18 to buy or sell a pari-mutuel ticket. In a similar way, Colorado Revised Statutes 12-9-107 says that anyone under the age of 18 can't buy pull-tabs or play bingo.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The responsibility of regulating Colorado's gambling laws falls on The Division of Gaming within the Department of Revenue and the Limited Gaming Control Commission. These agencies are entrusted with administering the local regulatory framework and monitoring compliance with state gaming legislation.

The Colorado Department of Revenue's Division of Gambling is responsible for regulating and enforcing limited gaming in Colorado. With offices in Golden, Central City/Black Hawk, and Cripple Creek, the Division employs over 90 people, including investigators, auditors, accountants, administrators, and support staff.

The Division of Gaming is responsible for investigating gaming license applicants, who must submit to a comprehensive background check. Investigators of the division examine the personal and financial histories of applicants, including the origins of the funds they want to invest in a prospective business.

The governor appoints five members of the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission. According to the law, the Commission is in charge of establishing the gaming tax rate as well as all other rules and regulations pertaining to limited gaming in Colorado. The Commission has ultimate jurisdiction over all state-issued gambling licenses.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in Colorado?

According to Colorado Revised Statute 12-47.1 - 809, it is a Class 2 misdemeanor to permit a minor to wander around the gaming area of a casino, sit in a chair/be present, participate, play, be allowed to play, or place bets.

This is punishable by 3-12 months in jail and/or a fine of $250-$1,000. If the minor is under 18, then it becomes a Class 4 felony, punishable with 2-6 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.

How old do you have to be to Gamble in North Dakota?

North Dakota has a general ban on gambling, although there are exceptions to this rule. These exclusions include charitable gambling with a minimum age of 18, pari-mutuel betting (with an age limit of 18), and tribal casino gambling with an age requirement of 21.

Even though tribal casinos are not governed by the state, which mandates a minimum age of 21, they comply with the criteria in order to offer alcoholic beverages on the gaming floor. The Indian Gaming Regulatory Act of 1988 (Indian Gaming Regulatory Act) regulates tribal casinos, and federal law sets the drinking age at 21.

The North Dakota Century Code sections 12.1-28-01 et seq. and 53.06.1-01 et seq. detail the gambling age limits for various forms of gaming in North Dakota.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The North Dakota Gaming Division oversees and enforces laws pertaining to gambling conducted for charitable purposes. It investigates and conducts audits of nonprofit gaming organizations and keeps tabs on casinos shared between tribes and states.

The Gaming Division monitors the fairness and legality of all games played at casinos owned and operated on North Dakota's tribal lands. The regulatory body verifies the correctness of the prize distribution ratios and the observance of betting limits.

The North Dakota Racing Commission is a separate agency responsible for overseeing horse racing in the state. The Racing Commission's duty is to oversee and audit the production of pari-mutuel pools and gaming terminals. The North Dakota Racing Commission is also responsible for establishing the racing schedule and enacting regulations to ban the use of any substances or techniques that might affect the results of the races.

Lastly, the North Dakota Lottery Advisory Commission is responsible for the state's lottery operation, promotion, regulation, and enforcement. The group also helps retailers by issuing licenses and providing assistance with staff education.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in North Dakota?

The state of North Dakota is gambling-friendly, and residents are free to gamble as they see fit. There is, however, one significant exception: individuals who attempt to gamble while under the legal age of 21 in North Dakota.

Individuals who attempt to gamble while under the legal age of 21 will face severe consequences from the authorities. These may include fines or even jail time. Also, their cash may be confiscated by the venue through which they gambled illegally. There are things in life worth waiting for, and legal gambling is one of them. The best advice for gamblers under the age of 21 is to wait until the time is right.

How old do you have to be to Gamble in South Dakota?

To gamble in South Dakota's Indian casinos and Deadwood casinos, you must be at least 21 years old. You must be 21 years old because some of these establishments provide alcohol, which they are not permitted to serve under the legal age restriction. However, you only have to be 18 years of age for simulcast and live horse race betting.

To wager on sports in South Dakota, you must meet the age restriction of 21 years old. However, South Dakota has yet to regulate sports betting. There are several offshore online sportsbooks from which to choose if you like to wager on sports.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

Live horse racing and simulcasting in South Dakota are governed by the South Dakota Commission on Gaming, as is limited wagering in the City of Deadwood. The governor appoints five people to the board, and the state senate must approve those people. The Enforcement Division and the Operations Division comprise the SD Commission on Gaming.

The Enforcement Division is responsible for performing background and criminal record checks related to restricted gambling. Additionally, it monitors all casino-related activities. In addition to monitoring compliance and revenue, the Operations Division conducts casino audits in Deadwood. It inspects slot machines around the state and maintains gambling and horse racing information.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in South Dakota?

According to South Dakota Law SDCL 42-7B-35, anyone who gambles while under the age of 21 is deemed to have committed a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by more than 30 days in prison.

Also, anyone who allows a minor to gamble would be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor for violating state gaming legislation. This violation carries a potential sentence of exceeding 30 days in jail. Additionally, the operator risks losing their retail license.

How old do you have to be to Gamble in West Virginia?

The following are the minimum ages for the various forms of legal gambling in West Virginia: 21 years old for casinos, 21 years old for poker, 21 years old for sports betting, 18 years old for bingo, 18 years old for sports betting without an alcohol license, 18 years old for horse racing, and 18 years old for the lottery.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The West Virginia Lottery Commission is responsible for overseeing all activities involving gambling. Here are some of its primary responsibilities:

  • The Commission is the authorized distributor of over forty quick games.
  • Tickets for the Multi-State Lottery Powerball, Mega Millions, and Lotto America are distributed.
  • Also available for purchase are Keno Go, Daily 3, Daily 4, and Cash 25 lottery tickets.
  • Regulates both retail and online sports wagering.
  • Monitors Internet-based gambling, video lottery, and table games.
  • Additionally, the West Virginia Lottery Commission is in charge of all land-based casinos.

In addition, the West Virginia Lottery Commission is responsible for legalizing all land-based casinos and retail sportsbooks. In order to open a casino on the territory of the Mountain State, you must obtain permission from the seven-member Commission.

The Governor selects a lawyer, a public accountant, a marketing expert, a computer specialist, and a law enforcement agent to monitor the operators around the state. Additionally, there are two public representatives inside the Lottery Commission.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in West Virginia?

Under West Virginia Code section 29-25-25, letting a minor on the premises is a misdemeanor punishable by a possible 6-month prison sentence and/or a maximum $1,000 fine for an individual. If the offender is a corporation, the penalty is $25,000.

It is unlawful to sell lottery tickets to minors, although adults can buy and give them to anyone under 18 years old. If a juvenile wins $5,000 or more, they must have a parent, relative, or legal guardian collect the reward on their behalf.

How old do you have to be to Gamble in Illinois?

In Illinois, the minimum age to gamble legally depends on the type of gambling you wish to engage in. For instance, you must be 18 or older to participate in bingo and the lottery. Likewise, Illinois gamers must be at least 21 years old to enter casinos. Additionally, you must be at least 21 years old to participate in popular sports betting activities in the state, such as horse racing.

Although it is against the law to sell a ticket to a minor (Chapter 20, Sections 1605/15 and 1605/18 of the Illinois Revised Statutes), adults may still purchase tickets for minors as gifts. If the individual entitled to a prize or any winning ticket is a youngster (defined as anybody younger than 18), and the value of the prize is less than $2500, the Director may arrange for the reward to be paid to an adult relative or legal guardian of the minor.

Who regulates the gambling laws?

The Illinois Gaming Board is the primary agency responsible for handling all gambling activities inside the state. The board is also responsible for granting licenses and strictly enforcing gaming regulations.

The Illinois Gaming Board regulates all forms of gambling in the state, including casino gaming, video gambling, sports betting, bingo, and lotteries. The Sports Wagering Act (230 ILCS 45) is the primary piece of law that assists the board in controlling sports betting in the state. The Illinois Gambling Act (230 ILCS 10) is the primary state statute that regulates casino gaming in Illinois.

What's the penalty for underage gambling in Illinois?

Under 230 Ill. Comp. Stat. 10/11, winnings by an underaged gambler (under 21 years) are to be treated as winnings for privilege tax purposes. They are to be confiscated, forfeited to the State, and deposited into the Education Assistance Fund.

230 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 10/18 stipulates that a Class B misdemeanor will be charged to any casino operator who allows a youngster aboard a gaming riverboat. This violation carries a potential penalty of six months in prison and/or a maximum fine of $1,500.